



APPG on the Rule of Law

Minutes of the AGM of the All-Party

Parliamentary Group on the Rule of Law

Date: Monday 20th May

2024

Time: 4.30-4.35pm **Location**: Committee Room 4a, House of

Lords

Attendance

AGM Chair (non-member of APPG, as required by the rules): Ms Yvonne Fovargue MP.

APPG members attending: Sir Bob Neill KC (Hon) MP (Chair of the APPG); Lord Anderson of Ipswich KBE KC (Co-Chair); Baroness Lister of Burtersett CBE FBA (Vice-Chair); Lord Carlile of Berriew CBE KC; Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town; Lord Hendy KC; Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts; Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb; Lord Pannick KC; Lord Sandhurst KC; Lord Trevethin and Oaksey KC; Baroness Whitaker.

Apologies: Jonathan Djanogly MP; Lord Faulks KC; Lord Garnier KC; Baroness Hamwee; Lord Hope of Craighead KT; Peter Kyle MP; Lord Bishop of Leeds; Baroness Prashar; Yasmin Qureshi MP; Baroness Sheehan.

Additional parliamentarians: Lord Carter of Haslemere; the Earl of Devon.

Panel providing expert presentations at the formal meeting on the Litigation Funding Agreements (Enforceability) Bill, held immediately after the AGM: Rachel Mulheron KC (Hon) (Queen Mary University of London); Nick Rowles-Davies (Lexolent); Tom de la Mare KC (Blackstone Chambers); Dr Jo Hynes (Public Law Project); Neil Purslow (Therium).



Others attending: Adam Tucker (University of Liverpool and Bingham Centre external fellow); Adrian Vincent (Bar Council); Professor Andrew Higgins (university of Oxford); Anthony Maton (Hausfeld); David Greene (Edwin Coe LLP); Felicity Handley (Hanbury Strategy); Jan van Zyl Smit (Bingham Centre); Lauren Agnew (Public Law Project); Liza Lovdahl-Gormsen (BIICL); Nandini Mitra (Bingham Centre); Stephen Kinsella (Law for Change); Steven Marcus (Bugsby and Runlabs); Tyrone Steele (JUSTICE); Will Knatchbull (Bingham Centre); Zoe Bantleman (ILPA).

Meeting Aims

To comply with the rules for APPGs by conducting an AGM for the reporting year 8 February 2023 – 7 February 2024, including the re-election and election of officers.

Summary of AGM proceedings

The External Chair noted that there was a quorum of 8 Members of either House including 1 MP present, and the meeting was duly opened.

The following officers were duly re-elected, unanimously:

Chair & Registered	Sir Robert Neill KC (Hon)	Conservative
Contact	MP	
Co-Chair	Lord Anderson of Ipswich	Crossbench
Vice-Chair	Joanna Cherry MP	Scottish National
		Party

A new officer was elected unanimously: Lord Hendy KC (Labour) Vice-Chair.

The APPG unanimously approved its Income and Expenditure statement, Annual Report and a Due Diligence statement in relation to Foreign Government Funding.

The APPG unanimously confirmed that Murray Hunt (Director, Modern Slavery and Human Rights Policy and Evidence Centre) would continue as its Legal Adviser.

The AGM concluded at approximately 4.35 pm and was followed by a formal meeting on the Litigation Funding Agreements (Enforceability) Bill.