



APPG on the Rule of Law

Annual Report

INTRODUCTION

In accordance with the <u>APPG Rules</u>, this annual report explains the work of the All-Party Parliamentary Group on the Rule of Law over the past year. The report has been prepared for the Group's Annual General Meeting taking place on 20 May 2024 by the Bingham Centre for the Rule of Law, which acts as the Group's Secretariat.

The annual report covers the Group's reporting year from 8 February 2023 to 7 February 2024, as set out in the <u>APPG Register</u>.

MEETINGS HELD DURING THE REPORTING YEAR

Further details about the meetings listed below are available on the Group's website <u>here</u>.

21 February 2023 – 'The Retained EU Law (Revocation and Reform) Bill and the Rule of Law'

Chair:

• Lord Anderson of Ipswich (Lords Co-Chair of the APPG ROL)

Speakers:

- Dr Emily Hancox (University of Bristol)
- George Peretz KC (Monckton Chambers)
- Dr Julian Ghosh KC (One Essex Court Chambers)
- Professor Catherine Barnard (University of Cambridge)

Attendance

• 8 parliamentarians listed as attending

20 March 2023 – 'Fixing Parliamentary Scrutiny of Delegated Powers: The Hansard Society's Proposals for a New System'

Chair:

• Lord Anderson of Ipswich (Lords Co-Chair of the APPG ROL)

Speakers:

• Dr Ruth Fox (Hansard Society)

www.binghamcentre.biicl.org





Registered Charity No. 209425 Company No. 615025

- Sir Bob Neill MP (Commons Co-Chair of the APPG ROL)
- Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts CBE
- Professor Alison Young (University of Cambridge)

Attendance

• 11 parliamentarians listed as attending

22 May 2023 – Annual General Meeting of the APPG ROL

The following officers were duly re-elected, unanimously:

- Chair & Registered Contact: Sir Robert Neill MP (Conservative)
- Co-Chair: Lord Anderson of Ipswich (Crossbench)
- Vice-Chair: Joanna Cherry MP (Scottish National Party)
- Vice-Chair: Baroness Lister of Burtersett (Labour)
- Vice-Chair: Sir Tony Lloyd MP in absentia (Labour)*
- Vice-Chair: Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb (Green Party)
- Vice-Chair: Lord Sandhurst (Conservative)
- Vice-Chair: Lord Macdonald of River Glaven (Crossbench)
- Vice-Chair: Lord Pannick in absentia (Crossbench)

A new officer was elected unanimously: Baroness Butler-Sloss (Crossbench) Vice-Chair.

The APPG did not adopt an Income and Expenditure statement as it was not required to do so.

The APPG unanimously confirmed that Murray Hunt (then director of the Bingham Centre) would continue as its Legal Adviser.

The AGM was followed by a formal meeting on the Illegal Migration Bill.

*Tony Lloyd sadly died in service on 17 January 2024.

Attendance

• 14 parliamentarians, including 2 MPs, listed as attending

22 May 2023 – Meeting to discuss the Illegal Migration Bill

Chair:

• Sir Bob Neill MP (Commons Co-Chair of the APPG ROL)

Speakers:

- Dr Jean-Pierre Gauci (BIICL)
- Dr Marija Jovanovic (Essex Law School)
- Charlotte Kilroy KC (Blackstone Chambers)
- Enver Solomon (Refugee Council)

Attendance

• This meeting followed the AGM. We recall that more than five parliamentarians stayed for the panel discussion but unfortunately do not have a record of their names.

28 November 2023 – 'Universal Credit, Digitalisation and the Rule of Law'

This meeting was postponed. The rescheduled meeting was held on 12 March 2024, after our reporting year which as noted above ended on 7 February 2024.